Lemon Tree Diagnosis?

IMG_9100IMG_9101Lemon tree diagnosis?

This is a meyer lemon, planted almost a year ago. It has never been happy. It’s planted in full sun but the soil is clay and gets quite boggy. We’ve had some cold/frosty mornings in Melbourne but it’s spring now and it still looks sad. It’s leaves have been curled and shrunken and yellow for months. I’ve fed it nitrogen, magnesium and a couple of broad spectrum fertilisers as well as good ol’ fashioned cow manure and I’m running out of ideas for how to make this little one happy. I gave my neighbours a Eureka lemon tree (a gift for our housewarming but two lemon trees would be excessive!) and theirs is growing really well. Would love some feedback on this one. Thanks!

3 thoughts on “Lemon Tree Diagnosis?

    1. Thanks for the advice. Unfortunately we don’t have any well drained areas. I’m fearing that the Meyer Lemon is just going to be less tolerant and we’ll have to replace it with a Eureka Lemon which I know will grow in this soil. It’s just that I’ve become quite attached to my lemon tree, especially as it is the first plant we planted in our garden and I’ve worked so hard to try to make it happy. Also because their lemons are particularly delicious!

Leave a Reply

