Bunnings Lied To Me

My first crop of vegies was meticulously planned to fit all my favourite vegies of the season into my vegie boxes. But when I went to Bunnings, they didn’t have everything I wanted. Disappointed, I chose some substitute vegies and changed my plans. This crop, I thought I’d skip the planning stage and go straight to Bunnings to see what they were selling. Obviously, the wouldn’t be selling vegies that weren’t in season, right?

I was pleasantly surprised to see bok choy for sale and added it to my basket excitedly. I was even more surprised to see that within 3-4 weeks of being planted, it had already gone to seed (much sooner than the 7-8 weeks it took the first time I grew it). You guessed it, bok choy isn’t in season until March here. Bunnings lied to me. Yet another lesson learnt.

So, what to do with all this bok choy? I wanted to harvest it quick before too many of them bolted and flowered because I found it went quite bitter last time by that stage. So I harvested it all and made a big plate of honey, soy, garlic bok choy. Don’t worry, I won’t eat it all in one go.

Image

Ingredients:
Bok Choy (6 plants worth)
Sesame Oil
Soy Sauce
Honey
Garlic

Method:
Heat oil in wok. Stir fry garlic (I just used one clove so it wouldn’t overpower the mild bok choy). Stir fry bok choy for 2 minutes. Add honey and soy (I used one tablespoon of honey and a generous splash of soy). Stir fry for another 2 minutes. Done!

8 thoughts on “Bunnings Lied To Me

  1. I’ve found that Bunnings tends to sell whatever they think consumers want. Decisions aren’t made locally. If they were, a lot of what is on sale wouldn’t be there – they try to sell snow pea plants up here. Yeah, right…. any fool knows it doesn’t get cold enough here. Might I recommend the Diggers Club to you? All their seeds are coded by heat/cold zone, they have a fantastic planting guide available. and their website is to drool over: http://diggers.com.au. Of course, you may already be an avid fan, but it never hurts to spread the word.

    1. Thanks Kate. Unfortunately, Bunnings is the only “nursery” close to us, so I’ve often had trouble finding what I want. The next decent nursery is half an hour away (which isn’t far, but an hour round trip cuts into gardening time!). I didn’t know about the Diggers Club but it looks awesome at first glance. Plus ordering online means even more gardening time 🙂

      1. Their Heronswood garden is definitely worth a visit if you feel like a drive one weekend. The most amazing potager-style vegie beds… plus plants on sale and the full range of seeds and gardening toys in the shop, and the cafe has really good dishes produced from what they grow.

  2. Up here in Northern Canada we face similar problems with those who sell plants and seeds. Some make an effort to sell only stuff that will grow to maturity in our short season or, in the case of perennials, make it through our often brutal winters (Arctic Farmer). But the bigger chain stores do not make as much of effort to fit the seed/plant with the local growing zone. Speaking of which, we are currently experiencing minus 40C/F (close to the point where celsius and fahrenheit meet on their scales). When you add in the wind chill is has been below -50C and -60F. We had a power outage yesterday that lasted between two and three hours. I’m glad we have a woodstove, though I can’t imagine how long till things got tricky with this 40 below weather.

    1. Oh my goodness that’s chilly! “Freezing” in Melbourne is +10C! I suppose it’s a problem with all the big chain stores out there, any way to make money. We just need less people like me who just go in and buy it without doing the homework and maybe they’ll change their ways! Hope you get some plants tough enough to survive your brutal temperatures up there! Stay warm!

Leave a Reply

