Beautiful Molly And Emotional Attachments To Plants

Image

This beautiful Grevillea is called Molly. I fell in love as soon as I saw her name. Our last dog was called Molly. I have a habit of being emotionally attached to plants anyway, but give me a beautiful native and name it after the cleverest, naughty-est, loveliest dog ever and I’m gone. I dreamt about Molly the dog last night, and since Molly the plant is looking particularly lovely, I though it worthy of a post. Unlike Molly the dog was, Molly the plant is very low maintenance and keeps pushing out flowers almost all year round.

Molly the plant is extra special to me because of her name, but I have emotional attachments to all my plants. When I was little, there was a plant in our garden that had started looking sad. I really liked this plant and didn’t want it to die, so every day I’d go outside and sing to it. Thankfully, my parents were also concerned about the plant and actually watered and cared for it in a beneficial way (not just by singing to it) so it survived. I thought my singing had saved it.

It’s been a while since I’ve sung to my plants but I always talk to them. I have a feeling I’m not alone here. In fact, I bet most people must get emotionally attached to at least one plant at some stage in their lives. I must ask my brown thumbed partner, I bet he’s yet to experience this. I might have to change that fact, I’m sure it won’t be hard. After all, plants are very giving, whether it be food or smells or colours or oxygen. Plants have the potential to give us happiness and calm in this hectic world.

One thought on “Beautiful Molly And Emotional Attachments To Plants

  1. I’m with you on this. I tell the ones who are doing good work how great they’re looking, and I ask the sad droopy ones what’s wrong and what do they need. The Husband thinks I’m bonkers. I think I care about my plants! Haven’t named any yet, though….

Leave a Reply

