Roasted Beetroot Goodness

Image

As promised, it’s time for another beetroot post. This is my second beetroot crop, and it’s done just as well as the first.

Image

I roasted it, along with some sweet potatoes and served it with baked salmon and steamed green beans. I don’t actually like the taste of fish :(. But I think it’s an essential part of a healthy diet, and I do like the texture. And salmon has a very subtle taste anyway so it’s easy to mask the “fishyness” with herbs. Mine is coated in garlic, lemon, sage, thyme and pepper. My partner is more normal and loves the taste of salmon so his just has a bit of lemon, pepper and garlic on it. I’ve just baked them for 15 minutes at 180 degrees celcius (non fan forced) and they’re perfect. I also wrap them in baking paper before I put them in the oven to keep the juices and flavours in.

To roast the beets, I leave the skin on and roast them at 200 degrees celcius (non fan forced) for about 1 hour 15 minutes.

We washed ours down with a nice bottle of Pinot Noir from Red Hill, Victoria. Awesome start to date night :).

I plan to make a risotto out of the beetroot greens. You can find the recipe on one of my previous posts, Lovely Beets, No Waste.

3 thoughts on “Roasted Beetroot Goodness

  1. Sounds like we had a rather similar meal last night – but we had snow peas and broccoli rather than beetroot. Your baby beets are beautiful; there’s nothing better, is there?

    1. Wow, my parents called during dinner and they’d had baked salmon too. Must’ve been a salmony kind of night! Love beetroot! How do you roast yours? I’ve always done them plain because the flavour’s so awesome, but I’m thinking of trialling adding something else like some thyme and salt or maybe some balsamic. Thoughts?

      1. I like to roast a whole load of things together, like beetroot, sweet potato, carrot, white potato, onion and tomato, sprinkled with olive oil and balsamic vinegar, and topped with oregano, rosemary and sage.

Leave a Reply

