Beetroot Dip

I officially have no more beetroot left growing in my vegie box (at least until I plant more which I except will be asap!). I harvested the last 5 all at once. I’ll make a beetroot salad out of 3 of them from my Beetroot Salad For Australia Day recipe. They’re grated and sitting in a bowl in the fridge to soak up some lemon juice and olive oil overnight. I’m so glad I put the recipe on my blog because I’d changed it a bit from the one I’d originally written down and it was so yummy I’m glad I can replicate it! So often I make the same thing over and over and it tastes different each time because I add the odd tweak here and there but never write down which tweak was good and which was not so good. A bit like George’s Marvellous Medicine, the book by Roald Dahl.

The other 2 beets were used for this very bright beetroot dip. I’ve never made beetroot dip before so I looked online for some inspiration. None of the recipes really stood out for me so I just took bits from each and did my own thing. It tastes pretty good! For your benefit, and also so I don’t have a repeat of George’s Marvellous Medicine where I can never recreate it, I’ll write down basically what’s in it (the quantities may be slightly off because I free poured it all and added a bit more here and there according to taste but I’ll give it my best estimation).

unnamed (1)

Ingredients
2 medium sized beetroot
1/2 cup light sour cream
1/2 cup Jalna fat free natural yoghurt
1 large/2 small cloves of garlic, crushed
2 tbs lemon juice
1 tbs cumin
mint leaves (my mint leaves are still pretty small so I added about 12-15 leaves)

Method
Place beetroot in cold water. Bring to the boil, then simmer for about 25 minutes, until soft. When beetroot is cool enough to handle, peel and chop beets into quarters. Place in food processor and blend until smooth. Add all other ingredients and blend until well combined. Transfer dip into a bowl and garnish with mint. Serve with crusty bread.

Leave a Reply

