Tomato Pie

IMAG0343

Here’s the tomato and herb pie I made with my first tomato harvest. It was delicious!! My plan was to make the pastry but when I looked in our flour jar there were tiny little flour bugs in there. It was too late to go to the supermarket to get more flour so frozen pastry it was. And might I say, if you’re not making the pastry, this is the easiest dinner in the world!

Ingredients:
1 sheet of frozen puff pastry (or do the homemade version)
tomatoes
chilli
basil
garlic
olives
parmesan cheese
mixed herbs
1 egg
pepper
salt (if desired)

Method:
Preheat oven at 220 degrees Celsius. Take 1 sheet of puff pastry out of the freezer and sit on the bench to thaw for 10 minutes. Meanwhile, cut up tomatoes (I used about a punnet worth) into 1cm thick pieces. Crush garlic. Slice olives and chilli. Lightly beat one egg. Once your pastry is thawed, sprinkle a layer of parmesan cheese over pastry, leaving a 3cm border. Arrange tomatoes, chilli, garlic and olives over pastry (I used heaps of chilli because my chilli’s aren’t very hot (at all!) but use however many you desire). Fold pastry edge over filling and brush pastry with egg. Season with salt and pepper as desired (I just used pepper – I find parmesan salty enough). Bake for 30 minutes until pastry is golden. Sprinkle with basil leaves. Serve with salad. Serves two (although my partner would’ve happily eaten the whole thing!).

5 thoughts on “Tomato Pie

  1. Num num! It’s given me an idea for using up the enormous quantities of basil I found waiting for me in the garden when we got back from our trip. It’s eat it or watch it bolt, and I’d rather eat it!

Leave a Reply

