Summertime Vegies

unnamed1

I made sure I got in a little earlier with my summertime vegie planting this year, learning my lesson from last year after a late tomato planting resulted in small tomatoes. The girls were very useful in helping me plant our new crop. Well, they did the odd chicken poo in the general viscinity which can only be a good thing. Unfortunately, Bunnings didn’t have any “Burnley Sure Crop” tomatoes this year, which are the perfect tomato since we live in Burnley, opposite Melbourne University’s horticulture campus. So I got “Mighty Red” instead. I’ve given them heaps of space (another lesson leant from last year). According to the label, I technically could’ve planted all 8 seedlings (just), but I just planted 4 and gave the other 4 to my neighbours. They supposedly grow up to 1.8m tall and the label said I could plant them 50cm apart which seemed to close to me. We’ll see how they go with the extra space. If my brussel sprouts fail, which I suspect they will, I’ll plant some roma tomatoes there, so we’ll have plenty tomatoes to go around. I can’t wait to make some more tomato pie – it was amazing last year!

unnamed2

I also bought 4 cucumber plants which you can’t see in the photo because they’re camouflaged in the pea straw (which the girls absolutely love! So many good things to peck at in pea straw!)

unnamed4

And in the lovely pot that Adam bought me for my birthday last year I planted a yellow capsicum which promises high yields. It’s already got a couple of flowers on it so hopefully we should get a whole lot of sweat, homegrown capsicums. I eat a lot of capsicum these days. I think I’m making up for lost time, because Dad doesn’t like capsicum so we never really had it at home. Since moving out, I probably buy 3 capsicums a week. I have them in my lunch wraps for work a lot because they don’t make my wrap soggy like tomato does, but they give that nice, refreshing, sweet flavour. Plus they’re pretty cheap. So I really hope I get some delicious homegrown yellow beauties. We shall soon see!

2 thoughts on “Summertime Vegies

  1. So long as your soil’s warm enough, getting an early start with the vegies is a good idea. That elegant pot is going to look lovely with a big capsicum plant in it, especially when it fruits! You’re going to find it very hard to say goodbye to those chookies, aren’t you…?

  2. Yeah, pretty sure we’ve said goodbye to those cold Melbourne days, but you never know in Melbourne! Hopefully they’ll be fine.

    I am going to have a very hard time saying goodbye to my girls! It looks like I’ll have them for a week longer than expected because they’re only just getting feathers on their heads. Still too fluffy to go outside full time. At least I’ll get to visit them lots so it won’t be goodbye for good!

Leave a Reply

