Moving Molly

As you may know, Molly the grevillea is in the path of construction for the new shed. I had always thought I’d have to say goodbye to her. She was enormous and I’d been under the impression that natives don’t relocate well. But my dad and my brother told me to give it a go. I gave Molly a pretty big haircut a couple of weeks ago. I thought I’d give her some time to recover from this before I plunged her into unfamiliar territory. She loved the haircut! She’s covered in new shoots.

image

So last weekend I went to dig a new hole for her, and of course, there’s a giant slab of concrete in the way. What’s with this house and buried concrete?!

image

The concrete runs right through the middle of the whole garden bed. No wonder the plants that were originally here were shallow rooted! I called dad for advice and he suggested that the concrete is probably an old garden edge and unlikely to be anything important and that I should get out the sledgehammer and smash a nice hole for Molly. We don’t have a sledgehammer, but we do have some guys coming to remove the concrete slab from our old shed so we’ll get them to jackhammer it up. I dug around the concrete some more – it’s pretty long. It’ll be good to get most of it out – we’re gonna want to plant more stuff here. Want to do it soon too before Molly’s new shoots get too big. Will let you know how it goes!

5 thoughts on “Moving Molly

  1. I think your Dad’s right, but be prepared for that bugger to go down quite a long way. I reckon you may need to invest in a crowbar… Molly may have to wait a little longer, but it’ll be worth it.

Leave a Reply

