Orchids Orchids Everywhere!

unnamed (2)

I love orchid season! I have so many orchids (mostly still at Mum and Dad’s house) that my parents can’t give them away! I’ve got 3 orchids at my house (two pink, one yellow) and they thrive no matter how badly I treat them. I think even the brownest thumbs out there couldn’t kill a cymbidium orchid (so long as they aren’t put in full sun, or planted in regular soil). I never water them, only occasionally will I feed them. I just dump them in a shady spot and ignore them and every year they reward me with months and months of gorgeous flowers.

unnamed (3)

This one actually started flowering in May and I’m sure it’ll keep flowering for a few months longer! The past few years I’ve had to delay re-potting them because they’re still flowering well into November. Melbourne Cup Day early in November has always been our traditional re-potting day. We need another public holiday at the end of November that we can call re-potting day! (any excuse for another public holiday! :))

2 thoughts on “Orchids Orchids Everywhere!

  1. Lovely! I’m a huge orchid fan too, and as I write, I’m admiring my phalaenopsis orchids, one white and one purple, which sit on top of the window airconditioning unit in my sewing room. Like you, I neglect them tremendously, they occasionally get an eggcupful of water, and that’s that. I have plans to have lots more orchids in the house we’re buying; there’s a huge covered patio out the back which will be a perfect spot.

Leave a Reply

