A Bounty Of Tomatoes

image

Up until now the tomatoes have been coming in a nice steady stream of 4 or 5 a day. And between my boyfriend and I we’d easily get through that many a day. But yesterday’s harvest gave me about 30 tomatoes. True, I’d just done a couple of 12 hour shifts so I hadn’t picked any for a couple of days but still, that’s a lot of tomatoes! Time to get out the napolitana sauce recipe I think!

I did cook up about half of these last night into a very basic pasta dish courtesy of Jamie Oliver.

image

I love Jamie Oliver recipes because they are so simple and flavoursome. I was drawn to the roasting of the tomatoes for this sauce. So sweet and yummy! The recipe I used for this dish is here:

http://www.jamieoliver.com/recipes/pasta-recipes/penne-with-tomato-basil-olives-and-pecorino/#UhvKy286f5jIYGp5.97

2 thoughts on “A Bounty Of Tomatoes

  1. I bottle tomato sauce, and there’s nothing better than a cupboard full of jars of red loveliness. You’re right, they’re better roasted first! Onion, garlic, a dash of balsamic vinegar, some brown sugar and a basil leaf in each jar. It’s the taste of summer in the middle of winter.

Leave a Reply

